Finding Inspiration: Negativity Cactus

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hi there Polkadot,

Let’s get to collaging again, shall we?

After a long hiatus, this page was the first thing to come out of my hands journal wise.  I had spend the evening with a good friend, visiting a Christmas market nearby.  We talked about life, work, social media and how all of those negative impulses can stick with us, rather than the positive ones.

And that was the inspiration for this journal spread.

img_20161211_154732

I created the background by using dylusions paints (teal, lime and lemon), my blending tools, a puchinella stencil, the dylusions letter stencil… When I liked the painted background, I stamped a script stamp with blue archival, and the circle with hot pink memento.  I toped the ground layer with some washi tapes.

img_20161211_162525

Next step was to dig through my collage drawer.  I found this one model who had the facial expression I was looking for.  I gave her a different body, that fitted the mood I wanted better than the bikini body she had. It was a bit tricky because my perfectionist side kicked in.  I shut that inner critic up, and just started glueing! I used soft gel by Prima.

img_20161211_173039

I wanted the girl to be a sort of cactus hybrid, so I drew some plantlike arms around her.  I painted them with a mixture of dylusions paints and distress paint (scattered straw).  When your paint is still wet, you can remove it from washi with a wet wipe. When I liked the color, I let it dry over night.  When it was cured, I took a bit of gloss gel to create a barrier for my pitt pens.  I went over the plants with a brown big brush pitt pen to create depth and the needles. I spread around the ink with my fingers.   I know it is not really how a cactus looks, but you get the idea.

img_20161214_211223

On the other page, I wanted lots of room to journal my thoughts.  So I  chose a technique I have used several times before: the negative gesso’ing.  I took one of the magazine clippings from my paper bin, and drew a silhouette.  I kept the negative of the background, and covered the background with black gesso.

img_20161214_214004

As a last step I took out my paint-, alcohol-, distress- and pitt markers and went to town.  What do you mean marker issues?

Here is a photograph of most of the supplies I used to create this page:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you like it! Talk to you soon xoxo

 

 

5 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration: Negativity Cactus

  1. I think the idea of creating this negativity cactus and what it stands for really great! I also love the way you transformed it into art, something pleasing to the eye and something to talk about! I’ll sure stick around to see what’s coming up next,.. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the symbolism in your page. I also really like the ombré effect on the clothing and I’m always in awe of how smooth and soft your blending is. I haven’t done that type of painting over collage in ages. I should try that in my journal soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

