Wild at heart

Hi there Polkadot,

Long time no see.  On the final half of last year I emerged myself in scrapbooking a lot.  I had to finish a commissioned wedding album and had several workshops to prepare for the local scrapbook store.

So, as we do as the year ends, I had some thinking to do.  I missed art journaling, I missed my paints, and my freedom to do what I like, when I like and with what supplies I liked.  One day, I was out with my sister and mother to celebrate my moms birthday and we stumbled into another craft store, located not far from my hometown Mechelen.  We got to talking, because well the community isn’t that big, so pretty much everybody knows everybody.  And I was asked to join their design team, to promote art journaling and mixed media and share my product knowledge. Wow, that was a lot to process.

I was very humbled and at the same time excited.  So I decided to take on the challenge, to take a step back from the other design team I was in to evolve as a crafter/artist/creative being.

So here I am, back with you lot again.  And it feels great!  Today I have a little mixed media piece to share with you.

These are the supplies you need:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know, I used every single tube in the Finnabair Mixed Media Essentials assortment. But it goes to show you are going to use up every single one of them 😉  The dies are the Watercolor Wonder dies from Altenew. Stamps are background stampies by miss Finnabair for Prima as well.  The little colorful pots are Creative Expressions Metallic Gilding Wax. Let’s go over the steps shall we?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I started out with a small watercolor paper pad.  I picked out some scrapbook paper that featured the main eye catching color I planned for later: teal.  Then I started glueing them down with the soft gloss gel.  Normally I go for a mat finish, but as you can tell from the picture.  It is not too glossy. Be sure to use some gel underneath and on top to cover your layer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the next step I wanted to unify my layers so it would look like one layer.  Best trick I know to achieve that result is: gesso!

Next, we want to add texture.  Prima molding paste is my favorite.  I used a puchinella stencil to create little dots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next, I wanted to play with the gilding wax. It’s the kind of wax that highlights texture, so I grabbed my texture plates.  I wanted something grungy, metal-like, so black card seemed the best substrate to try out those waxes. I used a cut’n’dry foam to apply, but I ended up using my fingers more.  When you applied the wax, you let it sit for a while, and then you buff it up with a clean cloth to reveal the shine and remove the wax.  I used the Altenew Watercolor dies to make flowers and leaves out of the metalic paper. To create even more depth, I put some of the black gesso on my craft sheet, and sponged on some of it around the edges of the flowers.

Next tube in the Mixed Media Essentials pack was the texture paste with white sand.  Much like glass bead gel, I figured.  So I grabbed my beloved Dina Wakeley stencil set.  I love it so much because it has both the stencils as the masks.  I chose the hart, it just spoke to me.  The thing is with these gels, they have to dry like forever.  So don’t try to use them if you don’t have time to let them dry.  When dry, you can see in the last picture, they are almost transparent.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next up was to put some attention on the heart shape.  I used the wax in three different teal like colors (patina, sky and teal) and then i took the vintage lavender and sky to put some more color on the background.  Accentuating the texture in the paper pieces. To let the heart stand out a bit more, I layed the mask on top of the heart and stamped around it with some archival ink. Next up, the pitt pen to create some faux stitching. Be sure to clean of your masks right away, that is if you like them to stay white!

Now to put everything together, I pasted my flower embelishments to the piece with 3D gloss gel.  You could compare it to 3D glue dots it you will.  The thicker you lay it on the embelishment, the higher it will rest on your piece.  And to complete the look, I used my thin lined pitt pen to draw faux stitching around my paper.  And here is the finished piece:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you like it like I do 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wild at heart

    1. Helemaal hetzelfde is het niet, omdat het hier om een nat medium gaat. Het is wel de enige manier om relatief snel grotere embelishments toe te voegen aan een project, denk aan finnabair met al die metalen dingetjes. Dat is opbrengen, neerleggen, efkes wachten en hop het plakt. Omdat het zo dik is, gaat dat object dat je opplakt ook nergens naartoe, je kan dus lekker aan je cluster verderwerken zonder te moeten wachten. En wanneer het droog is kan het beter tegen alle verdere handelingen dan 3D mousse.

      Like

Leave a Reply

