Finding inspiration: cleaning up and Finnabair

Hi there Polkadot!

How have you been? I have been feeling overwhelmed lately.  Not so much by situations, but by stuff.  You know how sometimes you get overcrowded by your own stuff?  I do. I have been reading about Marie Kondo and clearing out your stuff sporadically.  She keeps popping in my eyesight.  So one day I will get the book – in the library because I have been on a no buy on regular books for a long time now- and I will get to it.

So what does that have to do with art-ing? Well, you can get crowded or over-stuffed by your supplies too. And that can block up your imagination and creativity. I’m used to stuff, even clutter, or better yet creative clutter: ideas lying around and such.  But there are days when I feel the urge to clean up my room, see some free table space. There is a lot of stuff in my room, seeing I have several passions like crochet, scrapbooking and art journaling. And I feel the ideas don’t always have room to flourish in that crowded room.

Last weekend I heard the buzz of Finnabairs installment in Wanderlust.  So I really wanted to dive in and do a mixed media artwork, to finally use some supplies I have been hoarding for ages.  Since I did a Finnabair workshop in the Netherlands a year or three ago I had several of her embellishments and metallic paints.  They were collecting dust… So high time to get at it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The supplies I used combined: glimmer sprays, metallic paint, pearls, gems, some ancient scrapbook embellishments, buttons, a resin butterfly, a stencil, glas bead gel….

This is what I ended up with:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m happy I did this lesson.  Finally a lesson in Wanderlust I did complete 🙂  And I used up some supplies that had been living in my drawers for way to long! I still have some left, so maybe I will do three canvasses to hang on my wall together as a grouping…  Don’t know yet.

I hope you find some of your old supplies and get use out of them TODAY!  There is no time like the present 😉

Talk to you soon.

2 thoughts on “Finding inspiration: cleaning up and Finnabair

  1. I think you have the right idea to make use of what you have in order to clear up a bit. I grew up with a Grandad who was of the “make do and mend” attitude from wartime long after rationing had ceased and I think that informed my own environmentalism and checks on over-consumption – but it also led me to hoard things that might prove useful. To stop getting overwhelmed by clutter, I make myself organize and purge every few months. It used to be every six months but that led to me getting stupidly attached to things.

    Like

  2. OMGOSH I love this, I wish I had the courage to do something like this. I have no idea how even to start and I do not have these amazing colors LOL. You did amazing job my friend. Really really LOVE this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

