Finding Inspiration: Marc Chagall

Hi there Polkadot!

Finally I have completed my Marc Chagall lesson in Love Art Happy Life e-course 🙂  I’m really excited to show you the result:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I stayed close to the work Regina Lord did for this lesson.  I chose some other details and colors, and I made the girl float above a forrest.  Although I looked for the stained glass windows in Metz made by Chagall, I hadn’t really looked deeply at his work or methods.  So that’s why I chose to stick to the example Regina made. You can read more about Chagall here. I found out there is a movie about him too, but I haven’t seen it yet.  Maybe next weekend. So maybe someday I will do another one, more inspired by his work and my output by studying it.

There aren’t many supplies I didn’t use on this spread…  But most of it is acrylic paint. Layers and layers of it. I’ll show you some proces pictures:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m really please with how it turned out.  I think this is the first painting I worked so hard on, and like with most of the things you create, it shows. I still have to complete 13 lessons in this course.  I really like it because you can choose your project to fit your needs: if you have lots of time and inspiration you can really get into the featured artist, study their work, their life.  Get really inspired you know.  And then you can jump in and give your work the seasoning of their artistry.  Or you can just follow along with the lesson and learn something from the featured mixed media artist as well!

Thanks for stopping by, talk to you soon!

2 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration: Marc Chagall

  1. I absolutely LOVE this, Krisje! It is amazing! I could tell right away that it was inspired by Chagall so you have met the brief. It has a wonderful dream-like quality to it and I love the combination of the rich blues, the glowing white of the moon and stars, and the gold of the plants. I absolutely love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

