Finding Inspiration: Sonia Delaunay

Hi there Polkadot,

This week has been a real rollercoaster.  As you probably know, we have encountered terrorist attacks in Brussels.  I know this is not the first, probably not the last, and certainly not the only encounter.  But hitting this close to home, this close to the heart of our country…  Makes you think. Makes you count your blessings.

I don’t want to focus too much on this news, because that is not why I blog.  But what warmed my heart this week, i surely want to share.

Color, and art, just as music, can sooth your soul.  My heart goes out to everyone who was touched by these, and any other previous, events. We can’t let them put fear in our hearts, we just can’t.

You could easily use feelings caused by events like these in your art journal.  I have seen several beautiful journal pages and mixed media art works in my facebook feed this week.  I haven’t journaled yet this week, I have no idea if I will use any of my feelings on this subject.  For me, I’m still progressing I guess.  I don’t even know what I feel yet.

In stead today I will share with you one of my lessons in the Love Art Happy Life e-course.

Marsha Valk taught us about Sonia Delaunay.  A very versatile artist of whom I had never heard before.  So that’s always a nice bonus 🙂  I once showed Marsha around in Brussels. We visited the Victor Horta museum together.  We took a selfie in the midst of the Boulevard Anspach, where the video I shared was filmed. So that makes this project double relevant this week.  Marsha made a super scrapbook layout about out day. If Sonia Delaunay is new to you too, you can find out more about Sonia here.

These were the supplies I used for my page:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the first time I used my distress crayons in a project.  I have to say… I wasn’t really impressed.  I tried to color my tissue paper with them, but the color didn’t stick to the tissue.  I guess the tissue isn’t porous, so I switched to diluted acrylics.  I really wanted to play with those crayons, but they didn’t fit for the job this time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Layers and layers of color.  You know I love this 😀  I enjoyed the proces and I really want to do this kind of page again, differ more from the original made by Marsha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used my Posca paint pens to finish of my page by doodling ‘scribbles’ and lines around the page. I guess a bit of Kandinsky slipped into this project too 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used my Distress paint dabber to add the white stenciling, and as you can see it came out a bit too fluid.  Using a sponge with a little paint on it would have been better, like I did on the branches. Notice the leaf in the left corner, there I used cut’n dry foam with Dylusions paints. A really tiny amount goes a long way when you stencil.

What did I learn from Sonia/Marsha?  I played with the color wheel to find contrasting colors to put next to each other to create an eye pleasing mix.  I loved layering.  I’m used to stencilling in my journal, but I don’t think I have layered so much on top of each other before. Sometimes more is really more!  And I enjoyed painting in those geometric shapes too.

I hope you had a peaceful Easter, with a bit of time to art.  Talk to you soon!

5 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration: Sonia Delaunay

    1. I haven’t had time yet to be really creative after tuesday… This weekend was filled with friends and family 🙂 Maybe I’ll have some time later today or on Wednesday when I have the day off. it’s itching, that’s for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love it!!! And I can’t wait to see you do another one! I was wondering what materials you used to do the page (and now I know :-)). The texture turned out wonderful! Your paint is more translucent/transparent than the paint I used in the video, which means all layers show through. If you want to tone down the ‘more is more’, then you can look into using more opaque colours in the top stencil layers.

    I’ve thought a lot about us standing in that spot, walking around the city and riding the metro. And you’re right. You can’t stop living because of terrorist actions. I’m glad that there are people coming up with stuff like leaving messages on the street. It’s like a little ray of hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My thoughts exactly! I don’t think I own more opaque paints… Let me think which ones I used to stencil… The Dylusions for the leafs, Liquitex basic for the vines and Distress paint for the white. I think the Liquitex basic should be the most opaque of the bunch. I’ll have to try next time 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

