History at the movies and art nouveau in Ghent

Hi there Polkadot!

Last Saturday I ventured out with my mother and sister to visit the History at the Movies expo in Ghent.  I am a sucker for historical drama, be it in series or in movies.  In Dutch we call that genre ‘costume movies’.  So when I found out there was an expo putting the costumes in the spotlight, featuring some of my favorite series as ‘The White Queen’, ‘The  Tudors’ and ‘Downton Abbey’, I couldn’t stay away!

P1040079

The setting is ‘The Saint Peters Abbey’, one of the historical houses in Ghent.  Just look at that ceiling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the end of the expo, there was a big table set up with hats, bonnets, clothing to try on.  Of course I had to put on some real ‘Jane Austen like’ bonnets, for your entertainment of course.

Going into the Saint Peters square in Ghent, we passed the ‘Art Avenue’ and what a treat it was.  I rarely visit Ghent on foot, most of the time I’m by car and we park nearby the shopping district.  I had never been on the Art Avenue so I had to take my time and look at the beautiful fin de siècle buildings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So beautiful! There was a building on the other side of the street with a gorgeous Art Nouveau facade that was for rent!  I borrowed this picture from the realtors website:

3027001169000007928

Just dreamy if you ask me.  Look at all the details around that front door.  It makes the building next to it a little ‘plain Jane’.

Life is just full of little treasures 🙂  I’m really looking forward to our upcoming holiday to Lorraine in France.  Finally I will be visiting the Villa Majorelle and the museum of the ‘Ecole de Nancy’.  I’m really excited! I won’t be able to take pictures of the exterior of the villa because it will be in renovation.  But I buy a big book full of pictures taken by real photographers to compensate!

85472__villa_majorelle
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/

Talk to you soon!

One thought on “History at the movies and art nouveau in Ghent

Leave a Reply

