What art journal are you working in?

Well hello there!

I know my last articles all have the same featured image, but I couldn’t leave the picture for what it is, without telling you about the journals I own and how I feel about them, now could I?

I want to start of by quoting Marieke Bloklands book ‘Art Journaling & Mixed Media’.  If you buy paper pads for MM, go for at least 300 gr. For journals 140gr/square m is a good weight. That’s a good rule of thumb that can save you a lot of money.

Canson journal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Canson journal
  1. Where and why: This is the first journal I bought.  I bought it at the local Schleiper.  That’s a Belgian chain store for fine arts.
  2. Con’s: This journal isn’t made for wet media.  Well, you live and you learn now don’t you.  I heard so many things about Moleskine journals, and I thought, what the hey, these pages don’t seem thinner?  But it really can’t take anything wet without preparation.  So, I glued pages together and gessoed some of the pages.  I think it is about A5 size.
  3. Pro’s: I like the sturdy cover and the magnet closing.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Canson journal

4. What’s in it: This journal I use for trying out things most of the time .  I have some Lifebook assignments from last year in there that I didn’t want to do on watercolor paper.  Also a DLP page I wanted to try out on a smaller scale first.  I know, cold feet much?  Yes, I am the type that doesn’t want to mess up, and I am far to precious of my books and pages somehow.

I think the lady on the right side was an assignment too for AJSS? Don’t remember.  Maybe I need to put down the challenges or dates somewhere…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Canson journal

There is even some sampling in there.  I had some trouble with a Derwent colorsoft pencil.  It behaves totally different then it’s siblings. So this might be the journal of which I am least precious after all 😉

 

Canson scetchbook

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Where and why: This one I bought years ago, I think it was to stamp images on and color them.  Don’t remember where I bought it.
  2. Pro’s and Con’s: This paper is very grainy, so far to textured to do anything in it with markers.  But it is great to sketch in it with pencil.
  3. What’s in it:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Canson sketchbook

I really recommend having one of these, just to play around in.

Strathmore Mixed Media Visual Journal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Where and why: This one turned out to be one of my faves.  I bought it at the Craftorij in the Netherlands.
  2. Pro’s and Con’s: The only thing I dislike is the ring binder.  If they would sell this bound in, I would jump for joy and buy 10 at once.  You can see I haven’t done anything to my cover yet, and the binding rings live in my drawer 😉  I have most of the Art Journal Summer School in there and also some challenges I worked on in a Facebook Group.
  3. What’s in there:

Some heavy duty dylusional spraying going on here, and no leaking or bleeding!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dylusions large journal

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Where and why? I bought this to do the DLP last year. I bought it online at Scrobby.
  2. Pro’s and Con’s: In the beginning it’s size was a bit intimidating.  But you get used to it rather fast.  I wasn’t really impressed by how it could take wet media really.  I expected more I guess, being dylusional and all 🙂  But still, it is a good journal. I was very disappointed when the elastic band snapped really early on.  But you could easily replace it by a prettier one if you like.
  3. What’s in it:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A milion layers of acrylic paint on this page in the dylusions journal

Seawhite of Brighton

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Where and why? I wanted to try out these guys after reading Marieke Bloklands book.  And luckily my local Schleiper sells them in different sizes as well.  These are really mini journals, but fun to try out new paints, start up a quick page…
  2. Pro’s and Con’s: I love the paper quality.   If all my other journals are full, I probably go for this brand again, in a bigger size. Good binding and covers too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Canson Art Book

  1. Where and why: I can be seduced by a good promo.  One of the last times I visited Cultura in France, I bought this Art Book by Canson at a really good deal.  I bought it for the Inspirational Drawing course.
  2. Pro’s and Con’s: This paper isn’t really that great to be honest.  It was saturated rather quickly with the wax of my pencils.  And for wet media it is way to thin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So far so good.  I hope you can share what journals you love and why.  Have a nice creative weekend!

 

 

6 thoughts on “What art journal are you working in?

  1. Yes, that’s a great idea! I don’t know if I have that many… But I might surprise myself! I was picky for a long time, only wanting heavy weight paper, but I’m working in some sort of ‘cahier’ right now that I bought in Berlin and the paper is only 120 gr. It’s awesome! No rings, just staples :-). And I do have to gesso each spread, but that’s OK. Anyway: maybe I can do a blog post about my journals too. Hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the reviews. It is always good to have personal recommendations. Since I started art journaling in January 2014, I have been using the Canson Mixed Media. I like that it is spiral bound as it makes it easier for me to work on it on the hoof. It has taken all the media I have thrown at it with ease. What I am most enjoying working in at the moment, however, is my altered 1970s recipe book. Something about it having history appeals plus I think maybe it is less intimidating to not be starting with a blank page.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have vintage books i bought for that purpose. Well two purposes really, they are Artis Historia books. That was a sort of collecting system where food brands would have points on their packaging you could collect. When you had enough points, you could go to the store, buy a book, and get the images in the book for free with your coupons. I know it sounds terribly weird, but it existed very long. So, I have the images and the books. But I haven’t taken the leap to do something in it…
      Canson Mixed Media, I will have to look for that one. Should be available here.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

