DLP: use at least five layers

Hi there, thanks for joining me today!

Sometimes a little challenge is all we need.  In the Febuary theme: layers you will love, this challenge told us to settle for five layers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really wanted to try out this side portrait stencil I had bought by Prima’s Jamie Dougherty. *takes on Jeremy Clarksons voice* Some say… there is no creation in using portrait stencils.  Well.  I can tell you this, you can do whatever you want with a stencil.  Use whole of it, only bits of it, ect.  And you still have to do some work if you want your image to look like a person. I didn’t change a great deal to the image itself, maybe to her hair, but that’s all.

I started on the back ground with three colors of dylusions spray: bubblegum pink, midnight and turquoise. Added some water en let the colors mix a bit.  Then I let it dry thoroughly before stenciling on the squares with modeling paste. After the modeling paste I stencilled on the girl with pearlised paint (Pearl Paint Dabber by Ranger).  That really brings in the light into your work. I worked on her skin with paints, markers and posca paint pens.  It came together really quick.

The message for myself that week was to look into the future and not into the past.  You can not change it, you can only take from it and try to learn from it.  Sometimes you are in the driver seat, sometimes you are not.

Have a nice weekend, slap some paints around 😉

One thought on “DLP: use at least five layers

Leave a Reply

