For the love of Neocolors

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister is a graphic designer by trade.  She has done the studies, put in the work, has the talent.  So when she gives me advice about arting, I listen.  Well, most of the time 😉

The reason I bring this up is because she told me: it is not the tool that makes the artist, it is what he/she does with it.  Meaning, you don’t have to have the top notch supplies for everything.  You can make it work with your talent and the effort you put into your work.

I have a history of buying supplies I don’t always use, or don’t use as often as they deserve.  That is/was mostly the case for card making supplies.  I have always loved stamps, that’s where I started out you could say.  So I have bought all kinds of stuff to color in those stamps.  Not always with the same succes.  Some time ago I bought water color crayons made by Stampin Up. Not doing a whole lot with them…  Then suddenly the watercolor trend hit the scrapbooking scene…  Neocolor II’s became the new IT-supply.  “They won’t fool me,” I thought, “I already have the same thing but from another brand.” I even tried out Inges Neocolors and concluded they were the same deal.

Enter Tamara Laporte.  She used them in the first lesson in Lifebook for the beacon of light.  I didn’t have any color in the crayons I had to create skin-tones.  *Damn*  And then this Seeds of Love lesson hit the classroom.  Ok, now I just have to buy me some.  And I looked far and near for an art supplies store that sold them open stock.

Although there is nothing wrong with the Stampin’ Up ones I’ve got, you just can’t beat the colors of the Caran D’Ache Neocolors II’s.  Please, when you buy them, take enough time in the store to read the container.  I accidentally bought a set of Neocolor I.  NOT THE SAME THING.  It is pretty clear, the Neo II’s box states ‘water soluble’, but I was in a rush that time. Never a good thing 😉

Hope you are having a great day! Carpe Diem, people xoxo

3 thoughts on “For the love of Neocolors

  1. Neocolor II were new to me too when I started Life Book. They were my investment for preparing for the course. I’m really glad I got them because they really are great and work differently from any other medium I have already.

    I really like this version of the seeds of love lesson. The bird house is charming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

