DLP week 16 : plates!

Hi there Polkadot!

How was your weekend?  Mine was a bit cut short, I had to work on Sunday. When life brings you lemons… make lemonade right?

The DLP challenge for week 16 is: gelli plating!  As you know I just went to a workshop in gelli plating, but I wanted to even go further and try out something that has been on my to do list for a long time: printing with spays.  I can hear you think, because I had the same thoughts you have: why not just spray or apply paint directly?  Well, there is something to say about that.  In my honest opinion you cannot achieve the same effect directly.  Not with paint, because on the plate you have some time to blend, to build up color without it soaking into your paper.  Nor with spays for the same reason: they soak into our surface.  I loved the effect of the blending that happened when I put the plate full of sprays onto the paper.

The journaling prompt for me, again, was too negative.  ‘I have to much on my plate’. It is the third week in a row the prompts are a bit, shall I say, depressing?  Water under the bridge – you have to have something bad happen before you say it is water under the bridge, haven’t you?  And then ‘cry me a river’, not so positive either.  And now: to much on your plate.  I can tell you, I have stuff going on, I can tell you I struggle sometimes too.  But I really don’t want to focus on the bad.  It can be freeing to do so in your journal, it can even be healing and an eye-opener.  But it all depends on how you feel and what your need is in that moment you sit down and create.

Therefor, I chose to go for a very literal approach of the prompt: china.  How big, or stressful, or dreary the task at hand: I can always rely on coffee for a quick escape, or fix-me-up.  So I chose to put that in my journal alongside with the luscious colors of the Lindy’s Stamp Gang sprays.  I looked for things that reminded me of plates and their patterns and pushed through.

thumb_P4180002_1024 thumb_P4180005_1024 thumb_P4180006_1024

Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?  I really like those sprays.  I bought the Limor Webber set of ‘under the boardwalk’ colors.  I think they can fit every mood.  Although the packaging is a bit more intens then the real colors, I guess you can build them up if you want more depth to your color, like I did with the blue patches.  And… they didn’t move when I added the water.  Eureka!

I hope you get the chance to check a ‘what I want to do’ of you list this week.  And have fun while doing it 🙂

See you on Wednesday with an older page in my DLP journal.

4 thoughts on “DLP week 16 : plates!

  1. I love how your page turned out. The yellow and blue together are wonderful and I like the patterns in the cups. I agree with you that the prompts have been a bit downbeat but, like you, I’ve been doing my own thing with them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

