DLP week 2: the beginning is always today

Hello Polkadot!

Today I want to share with you my second week in DLP.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I saw this tutorial by Shari Caroll on youtube and I really liked the color combo she had going. I used this inspiration for my spread in the second week of this year. Next to DLP, I was following the challenges on ‘Journal Journey’ a facebook group based in Australia that I have since lost track of.  One of the first techniques they challenged you to use, was resist.  I love resist techniques, I used them for cards and mini-books a great deal, especially with my Distress inks. So I wanted to put everything together in these pages. It didn’t really work out as I hoped, my dylusions where so much stronger and more intense then what I saw on Shari’s video.  And at the same time, the flower that I heat embossed with UTEE didn’t stand out enough.  So enter the distress ink!

I talked about Paperartsy in my post about the Art Specially event.  Well, I used a technique they showcased in this video to paint in the girl.  She is a Prima stamp by Jamie Dougherty. I bought her in Paris, so she is really classy 😉 After I painted the strawberry in her hair red, the color really jumped off the page.  So much it didn’t fit in with the rest of my forrest-like scenery.  So I pulled out the Heidi Swapp colorshine spray for some droplets and…  My trusted washi tape.  I found that it is best to glue in your washi, with gel medium or something…  It cuts loose from the bumpy background.

The titel is stamped with a Stampin Up alphabet on vellum, red highlights added with a SU marker.

Those colors seem so wintery now, but that’s normal seeing I made the page in January.  Now go enjoy the spring colors outside! Bye bye x.

One thought on “DLP week 2: the beginning is always today

Leave a Reply

